To acquire platinum status from the U.S. Green Building Council, new construction projects must earn at least 52 out of a possible 69 points in the following categories:

Sustainable Sites (14 possible points)

Includes site development, construction pollution prevention, alternative transportation availability and storm water management.

Water Efficiency (5 possible points)

Includes water-efficient landscaping, water use

reduction and innovative wastewater technologies.

Energy and Atmosphere (17 possible points)

Includes energy optimization requirements, on-site renewable energy and green power technology.

Innovation and Design Process (5 possible points)

Extra points can be awarded for exceptional strategies that go above and beyond the criteria in the aforementioned categories.

Indoor Environmental Quality (15 possible points)

Includes minimum air quality requirements, chemical and pollutant source control, ventilation, and daylight.

Materials and Resources (13 possible points)

Includes the use of local and recycled materials as well as construction waste recycling.